Somojo Magazine

Tom Moriarty

Tom Moriarty - Smile if you want to get high

Over the last few months, Tom Moriarty has been making people across the media really sit up and take note… garnering enthusiastic radio support  and inspiring an entire BBC TV News story about his ‘Don’t just talk the talk - walk the walk’ career move from London’s financially rewarding City mean streets to its most famous ever recording studio.

His new single Smile If You Want to Get High is out on Jan 16th.

Moriarty simply jacked everything in and returned to his first, and true, love – making music.  Gifted since early childhood, the Cambridge, London School of Economics and Music Institute, Los Angeles-graduated talent quickly came to the attention of über-producer Ian Grimble (Travis, Red Hot Chili Peppers, The Cure, KT Tunstall, Mumford & Sons). Grimble whipped Tom into Abbey Road’s famous Studio 2 and a gorgeous album - Fire In The Doll’s House - was born.

Quickly drawing very favourable critics’ comparisons with John Martyn, Eddie Vedder, Tom Waits and even Bruce Springsteen, Moriarty landed a distribution deal with Universal Music’s Absolute arm. Journalists purred; Radio presenters raved - with BBC London’s Robert Elms even describing Moriarty as ‘a pearl amongst oysters’.

With a hugely successful ongoing first Wednesday of the month residency at West London’s trendy Elgin (where The Clash cut their teeth but an altogether more classy night out in 2011) and features and sessions across all media in the very recent past, Tom Moriarty is clearly a man with something to say and September 5th sees the release of a single so instant in appeal it should be banned. Life’s A Mystery has been remixed by ultra hot top producer (Duffy, Jon Allen) Tristan Longworth and can be heard on your radio like, now!

“If you like Ben Harper and Ray Lamontagne, you’ll love this!”
Guitarist Magazine 4* Album review

All images, logos, music tracks and videos are copyrighted to their respective owners.
All other content Copyright © Somojo Magazine 2009 - 2017